The International Truck Of The Year (ITOY)

SOLUTRANS 2015 to host the International Truck of the Year (IToY) award ceremony!

The International Truck of the Year (IToY) organisation is pleased to announce that Solutrans―the biennial trade fair for haulage and urban transport professionals, now in its 13th year―will host next year’s IToY award ceremony in Lyon. The event will take place at the Chamber of Commerce of Lyon on Tuesday November 17, 2015 at 8pm.

The decision to choose Lyon marks a further step in the long-standing partnership between IToY and SOLUTRANS, which has already resulted in a number of successful joint-events that have focused on alternative-drivetrains, and fuels, for both medium and heavy trucks including hybrid and CNG/LNG vehicles.

The International Truck of the Year annual award is presented to the truck introduced into the market in the previous 12-months which has made the greatest contribution to road transport efficiency, based on several important criteria, including technological innovation, driver comfort, safety, driveability, fuel economy, environmental footprint and total cost of ownership.

The ITOY organization

The ITOY award was originally launched in 1977 by the British journalist and legendary editor of TRUCK magazine Pat Kennett. Today, the 25 jury members represent leading commercial vehicle magazines throughout Europe. Moreover, in recent months the IToY Group has extended its sphere of influence by appointing ‘associate members’ in the growing truck markets of Australia, Brazil, China, India, Japan and South Africa. Altogether, the combined truck-operator readership of the 25 IToY full-jury members’ magazines, as well as those of its associate members, exceeds 950,000.

The 2015 ITOY trophy was awarded in 2014 to Renault Trucks T during the IAA show in Hanover.

The ITOY Jury: 25 represented countries.

  • Austria (Traktuell)
  • Belgium (Transporama)
  • Bulgaria (Bulgarian Transport Press/Kamioni)
  • Croatia (Kamion&Bus)
  • Czech Republic (Trucker)
  • Denmark (Lastbilmagasinet)
  • Finland (Auto teknikka ja kuljetus)
  • France (France Routes)
  • Germany (Lastauto Omnibus)
  • Great Britain (Commercial Motor, Truck&Driver, Motor Transport)
  • Greece (Troxoi & TIR)
  • Hungary (Camion Truck & Bus)
  • Ireland (Fleet Transport)
  • Italy (Vie&Trasporti)
  • Netherlands (TTM)
  • Norway (Anlegg & Transport)
  • Poland (Polski Traker)
  • Portugal (Comunicauto)
  • Romania (Tranzit)
  • Russia (Autoreview)
  • Slovakia (Transport  & Logistic)
  • Spain (Truck)
  • Sweden (Trailer)
  • Switzerland (TIRtransNews)
  • Turkey (Devir Saati)

Visit Truck of the year website